20 things to know · Opinion

You Don’t Need to Have it all Figured Out || Guest Post

As part of my 20 Things to Know in your 20’s post I’ve been working with a series of bloggers to provide you with a little post filled with knowledge every Tuesday and Thursday until I turn 22.

This weeks post is by Ashley! Be sure to check out her links at the bottom of this post!


Do you ever think that you don’t have your life all figured out or you have no idea what to do next? Well don’t worry you are definitely not alone! It seems there comes a point in life after you finish high school or college and you feel pressurized to start making these huge life altering decisions. Should I continue my education and attend university or maybe just go straight to working full time? Should I start a family and have children or maybe just see what happens?

When I was a junior and senior in high school, it seemed like they tended to put TONS of pressure on kids to figure out what they wanted to do after school and which university was best for them. I remember going into my guidance counselors office and discussing my interests and thinking OMG there’s not many professions that I really want to pursue or study. I felt like I was stuck because no matter what, whether you attend a 4 year school you’re going to be spending A LOT of money per year because let’s face it, unless you are lucky enough to get financial aid or a scholarship, then you better start thinking about ways to pay off student loans! I couldn’t deal with the pressure of all of this because I didn’t have a clue as to what I wanted to study, so why pay thousands? In my case, I started working my butt off,  working two jobs and bought my first car and then eventually asked myself what I was working towards because I didn’t want to work two jobs forever so I enrolled in a community college. 
 
I completed school a few years later while still working to pay for books, etc. and at the end of the day I can say that I worked hard to earn my Associates degree. I graduated in 2011 and yet I still have no idea what I want to be when I grow up but at least I have something under my belt! I’m 29 years old and I don’t have a masters degree or own my own business and you know what, I’m okay with that. I’m not advising to be a bum and not try to be the best person that you can be but sometimes you just don’t know what you want and that’s okay! Don’t feel pressurized into making big life choices that you don’t really want for yourself because you’ll end up paying for it for years. Unless you truly know what you want for your future, then by all means work for it and study your bum off! 
 
Realizing that I’ll be 30 years old next year it’s quite scary really because it’s making me reflect on my accomplishments so far and what I want to achieve in the years to come. Even if you’re just in your early 20’s and don’t have it all figured out, don’t worry! Things come in time and with experience and you get to know yourself more as the years go by so no one expects you to know it all when you’re still so young. I believe everything happens for a reason and then you learn what to do and what not to do as time goes on. 
 
If there was one piece of advice that I could give someone as far as figuring out who you are as a person, it would be to travel and explore other cultures and places that you’ve never been before. You can learn so much about yourself just by venturing out on your own and discovering who you are! It’s exciting to grow up so why not enjoy it? Do things that you love to do and know what makes you happy. It’s not worth feeling lost or worrying about things that you have no control over. Education is very important but you don’t have to rush into it if you don’t want to. Put it on the back burner until you have more of an idea as to what it is that interests you. Learn to live your life for yourself and nobody else! It’s an exciting time of your life so try to enjoy every minute of it, and remember that it’s okay to not know what you want because you’ll figure it out soon enough!
 
Have a lovely day and good luck!
 
Ashley

Links:

Leave a Reply

