20 things to know · Lifestyle · Opinion

The Importance of Being Able to Drive

As part of my 20 Things to Know in your 20’s post I’ve been working with a series of bloggers to provide you with a little post filled with knowledge every Tuesday and Thursday until I turn 22.

This weeks post is by Emily! Be sure to check out her links at the bottom of this post!


Hi everyone! My name is Emily and I blog over at Emily Faye’s Little World. Today’s post is all about the importance of being able to drive, you may be surprised by some of the things I have discovered in regards to driving, and hopefully I can open your eyes to just how important being able to drive really is. I think I can honestly say, being able to drive is the best thing that has ever happened to me to this day.

Learning to drive can be a very stressful, difficult and expensive process which I think puts a lot of people off, but once you’ve powered through and finally pass your test, you’re a free bird. You can go wherever you want, whenever you want without anybody else.  Not only is being independent and not having to rely on other people to ferry you around extremely important and handy, being able to drive is also important for career prospects.
I was doing a bit of research for this post and stumbled across an article on graudatecareertips.co.uk who said that:-
‘Possessing a clean driving license is often a pre-requisite for the job and is sometimes even stated in the job specification as part of the requirements you need to fulfil. You may rule yourself out of being eligible for a number of jobs by not having a driving license. Driving for work isn’t just for those working in the haulage driving articulated lorries around the country. Many professionals these days rely on their cars because the public transport links might not be good enough, it’s quicker to drive or even sometimes cheaper given how expensive the train networks are becoming. There are a number of obvious professions where you would associate driving with the job itself, such as being a firefighter, a salesperson or account manager. However, there are also professions that you might not commonly associate with needing to drive, such as being a doctor where they are often on call where they may need to attend to out of hours emergencies at short notice. You may be reducing your career options by not being able to drive. If you can afford to, then taking driving lessons while you have more time as a student can be a great opportunity rather than waiting until you are older when you are looking for a job. Don’t let something as simple as being able to drive hold you back from getting  the job you want!’
I thought this was really interesting and I had never thought of this before. Obviously when you’re 20, you’re probably almost done in Uni or on the hunt for a career, and something as simple as not being able to drive could be the one thing standing in your way! With so much scrutiny on the graduate job market, you need to make sure you have every box ticked so you have everything that a potential employer could be looking for, one of those boxes could be having the ability to drive.  Also, not being able to drive could limit you once in a position. Many promotions and jobs high up within a business require you to travel to meet with clients and attend important events, so not being able to drive could also limit you with how far you can progress in your career.
Being able to drive is very important to me personally, I hate having to rely on others, I like to be able to do things for myself and being able to drive has given me the power to do that. Being able to take myself to and from college, take myself to the shops if I need to get something, take myself to a friends house or do whatever I want whenever I want is very liberating. I’m even more grateful for being able to drive now that I am nearing the end of my time in college and will either be going off to Uni or into an apprenticeship. As I want to go into the legal profession, that could potentially involve a fair amount of travelling so being able to drive will be very handy for me in the next few years. Writing this post for Summer’s amazing little series has really opened my eyes to the benefits of being able to drive that not many people consider, being able to be independent is great but it really is even more important than it appears at face value. The fact that it can have such a great impact on your career really surprised me, but I really enjoyed looking deeper into the importance of being able to drive and it has made me appreciate my driving licence even more!
If you have the budget for it, I seriously urge you to learn to drive! I wrote a whole post about my experience here (http://emilyfayeslittleworld.blogspot.co.uk/2016/08/my-driving-experience-learning-to-drive.html) where I wrote about my entire experience with lessons, tests and cares! I also have a link to a resource that you may find useful at the end too so definitely have a read if you’re interested!
It was so amazing to write this post for Summer, and I look forward to reading the rest of this series!
Thank you so much for reading, let me know your thoughts!
Emily xx

Links:
Leave a Reply

